X

ABOUT

In 2018, Floating University Berlin was initiated by raumlabor as a temporary inner-city laboratory for collective, experiential learning and transdisciplinary exchange. The site was designed in the early 1930s as a rainwater retention basin to serve the Tempelhof airfield and adjacent avenues, and it remains today as a fully functioning infrastructure. Having being closed off to the public for over 60 years, a diverse range of animals, plants and algae have taken root and given birth to a unique landscape: a man-made environment reclaimed by nature where polluted water coexists with the relatively new presence of this pedagogical experiment, forming a natureculture or a third landscape.

After the Tempelhof airport closed down in 2008, the city’s redevelopment plan proposed to relocate the basin as a pond positioned within 300 hectares of parkland, surrounded by new development. However, in the Tempelhof referendum of 2014, Berliners voted against the city plans and prevented any kind of construction on the airfield. The result of this referendum not only protected the unique inner-city green space, but also provided protection for the basin. 

The founding year of the Floating University saw a diverse breadth of visitors involved to varying degrees with the activity on site, creating a unique ecosystem. The program consolidated a network of practitioners, who towards the end of 2018 decided to continue the experiment by transitioning from a ‘temporary’ project into an association: Floating e.V.

It is in solidarity with the history of the place and with the lineage of alternative narratives for urban development that the Floating e.V. situates its mission: to open, maintain, and take care of this unique site while bringing non-disciplinary, radical, and collaborative programs to the public. In other words, it is a place to learn to engage, to embrace the complexity and navigate the entanglements of the world, to imagine and create different forms of living.

 

Essays about the project from our recent publication:

Some Questions Around the Floating University by Joanne Pouzenc

Voilà, it’s not floating and it’s not a university! – A conversation between members of a non-institution, edited by Gilly Karjevsky

 

contact: 
info@floatinguniversity.org
Lilienthalstraße 32
10965 Berlin-Kreuzberg

X

ABOUT

2018 wurde die Floating University Berlin von raumlabor als temporäres innerstädtisches Labor für kollektives, erfahrungsorientiertes Lernen und transdisziplinären Austausch initiiert. Das Anfang der 1930er Jahre als Regenrückhaltebecken konzipierte Gelände diente dem Flugplatz Tempelhof und den angrenzenden Straßen und ist bis heute eine voll funktionsfähige Infrastruktur. Nachdem es über 60 Jahre lang der Öffentlichkeit unzugänglich war, hat eine Vielzahl von Tieren, Pflanzen und Algen Wurzeln geschlagen und eine einzigartige Landschaft geschaffen: eine vom Menschen geschaffene und von der Natur zurückgewonnene Umgebung, in der verschmutztes Wasser mit der relativ neuen Präsenz des pädagogischen Experiments koexistiert und eine Naturkultur oder eine dritte Landschaft bildet.

Nach der Schließung des Flughafens Tempelhof im Jahr 2008 schlug der Stadtentwicklungsplan der Stadt vor, das Becken als Teich innerhalb des 300 Hektar großen verbleibenden Parkgeländes zu verlegen. Beim Tempelhof-Volksentscheid 2014 stimmten die Berliner*innen jedoch gegen die Pläne der Stadt und verhinderten jede Art von Bau auf dem Flugfeld. Das Ergebnis dieses Referendums schützte nicht nur die einzigartige innerstädtische Grünfläche, sondern auch das Becken. 

Im Gründungsjahr der Floating University war eine Vielzahl von Besucher*innen in unterschiedlichem Maße an den Aktivitäten vor Ort beteiligt, wodurch ein einzigartiges Ökosystem entstand. Das Programm festigte ein Netzwerk von Akteur*innen, die sich entschlossen, das Experiment gegen Ende 2018 fortzusetzen, indem sie von einem „temporären“ Projekt in eine Vereinigung übergingen: Der Floating University e.V.

In Solidarität mit der Geschichte des Ortes und mit der Verbindung alternativer Erzählungen für die Stadtentwicklung situiert der Floating e.V. seine Mission: die Öffnung, Erhaltung und Pflege dieses einzigartigen Ortes, indem er nicht-disziplinäre, radikale und gemeinschaftliche öffentliche Programme anbietet. Mit anderen Worten: ein Ort, an dem man lernt, zu handeln, die Komplexität und die Verstrickungen der Welt anzunehmen und zu durchschauen und sich andere Lebensformen vorzustellen und zu schaffen.

 

Kontakt: 
info@floatinguniversity.org
Lilienthalstraße 32
10965 Berlin-Kreuzberg