X

SPRING OPEN WEEKS

May 4 – 20 2018
OPEN PROGRAM
SPRING OPEN WEEKS
We are starting into the Spring Open Weeks in May with an excitingly diverse program. Surrounding the Big Opening on May 10, there is an excellent program for collaborative learning that prepares participants for the city of tomorrow. Raul Walch will expand the discourse into the sky, Andreco combines environmental questions with choreography and Philip Leitner + Uwe Tisch will work on the musicalization of built structures with their research team. You can join Choreographer Sabine Zahn and architect Andreas Krauth in exploring potentials of the surrounding cemeteries, you can develop new perspectives with the interface designer Benoît Verjat or visualize the complex connections of society, city and ecology together with Stefan Kreft from the Center for Econics and Ecosystem Management.

 

May 2018
KITCHEN – Who’s cooking?
AFAVA
During the Open Weeks the students are not alone in the kitchen: In May we invited AFAVA from Lisbon!
Water is one of the main ways of expression of the current climate crisis and the basis of every food production, that is why AFAVA is focusing on it as a cooking material: from desertification to the intensification of floods and storms, how do we think on food from the water perspective? Meanwhile they propose to explore the line that tends to separate the moment of shaping a meal and the one of enjoying it.

 

May 4 – 12 2018, 11 am – 5 pm
WORKSHOP
Stefan Kreft: Fabulous MARISCO Workshop
In this workshop participants venture into the world of ecosystem management. They will build a situational analysis of the rainwater basin and the adjacent gardens. Afterwards they traverse the complex web of causes and effects influencing the local ecosystems, social systems and the services they provide for humans, in a conceptual model.

 

May 4 – 10 2018, 11am – 5pm
WORKSHOP
Andreco: FLAGS for the Floating University
With Andreco the Floating University turns into an imaginary indigenous society created to share experiences and practices that aim to find new thoughts and future scenarios for a sustainable city.
Within the workshop participants produce new symbols for the community and space. These symbols will be printed on flags and the big opening ceremony will be performed with them.

 

May 4 – 6 2018, 11am – 5pm
WORKSHOP
Benoit Verjat: Formatting Observation
Benoit Verjat and the participants invent new forms of formatting what you observe. A parcours of perspectives around the Floating University campus will be developed to connect momentary actions with, what could possibly happen.

 

May 6 – 13 2018, 11am – 5pm
WORKSHOP
Andreas Krauth + Sabine Zahn: Deathless Inception
A body-spatial surveillance of specific heterotopias in the urban context: cemeteries and their deathless re-foundation. Architect Andreas Krauth and Choreographer Sabine Zahn look for active forms of an interpretation of this historic transformation of cemeteries from two simultaneous perspectives.

 

May 8 2018, 7pm
Stammtisch – A weekly Conversation
Feminist Kitchen Table

Every Tuesday the kitchen will host a thematic dinner where participants
are invited to share and co-produce a moment of hospitality.

Invited Guests: Meike Schalk & Thérèse Kristiansson

 

May 10 2018, 2 pm – midnight
OPEN PROGRAM
Big Opening
A performance by Andreco and his workshop participants inaugurates the Floating University. Afterwards we want to celebrate the start of the next five months Floating University with rubber boot tours around the campus, discursive appetizers, Tosta Mixta und Hot & Potato and lecture music by Knarf Rellöm that also inaugurates the Academy of Listening.

 

May 11 2018, 7 pm
LECTURE
Dirk Baecker: The city AGILE
It is a perplexing observation that on a global scale, order and chaos are not significant factors in the self-organization of cities. In his lecture, Dirk Baecker engages with this phenomenon and the underlying preconditions.

 

May 11 – 13 2018, 11 am – 5 pm
WORKSHOP
Katherine Ball: Create your own water filters
In this workshop, we will build filters for Floating University’s water system. To be more precise, we will not build the filters, we will grow filters. Plants, fungi, sand, biofilms, molluscs, xylem, water vegetables, sage and special effects are all tested for their filtering properties in a mix of science, Zen relaxation and voodoo magic.

May 11 – 13 2018, 11am – 5pm
WORKSHOP
Raul Walch: Flying Semaphores & Floating Bridges
Kites that fly across and beyond borders – Raul Walch invites the participants of the Floating University as well as the inhabitants of the refugee shelter on the Tempelhof Airfield for a workshop and collective flying experiments. The polymorphic flying objects will float above the fences of the Airfield and expand the discourse of the Floating University into the sky.

 

May 11 – 17 2018, 11am – 5pm
WORKSHOP
modular-t (Philip Leitner & Stephan Pircher) and Uwe Tisch: „Research group: sound- hardware-building/ optimal brain damage: spatial scaffolding steel sound-sculpture “
Impact sound, impulse-response, feedback, resonance research. In the workshop of sound artist Philip Leitner and the scaffolding master Uwe Tisch, participants will experiment with the sound of the architecture and will induce audio into the scaffolding structure of Floating University,with impact sound converters.

May 12 2018, 7 pm
CONVERSATION
Some Notes 7: Niklas Fanelsa, Irene Beyer, Manuel Birnbacher, Henrike Rabe, Yuma Shinohara with Jan Lindenberg and Guest
‘Some Notes’ is a conversation series on architecture, crafts and cultural practice in transfer between Germany and other countries. The first nine events of the series are focused on Japan.

 

May 13 2018, 5 pm
LEXICON
Gilly Karjevsky: Hot Terms – Live terminological event with: Jane Randell, Katherine Ball
Floating University Berlin is a spatial process moving across utilities and spaces which are normally kept apart – the kitchen and the study, the bar and the auditorium, the hot tub and the library, the laboratory and the street, the university and the park. This movement brings thought and practice together. How can we capture it? Name it?

May 15 2018, 7 pm
KITCHEN TABLE a weekly CONVERSATION
Space Production Studio der UdK: Feminist Kitchen Table
Students of the Space Production Studio build, share, flood and run the common kitchen. On Tuesdays they invite for a collective dinner and reflection – on commoning around the kitchen table.

 

May 17 2018, 6 pm
DISCUSSION
Habitat Unit and Natural Building Lab: Die Nachwachsende Stadt
The project-integrated event-series for architects and planners, “DIE NACHWACHSENDE STADT,” offers an introductory overview on four topics – urban systems, climate adaptation, green economies and governing transformation to sustainability.

 

May 18 2018, 8 pm
CONCERT
Academy of Listening: Schweighart (Schlagwerk) / Leitner (Electronics)
In various acoustic interventions the Academy of Listening tries to reach from listening to thinking and vice versa. This Friday, Schweighart (Schlagwerk) / Leitner (Electronics) improvise and use the modular steel scaffolding as the sound body and musical instrument. Sitting inside that instrument, like sitting inside the stomach of a giant sound-turtle, one can observe them browsing the strings producing extraordinary sounds and playfully changing and stretching them.

 

May 19 – June 30 2018, Saturdays 10am – 2pm
KIDS UNIVERSITY
Floating University for Kids
This is an open format for kids, which will happen every Saturday.
A transdisciplinary team of experts and artists will lead water experiments, neighborhood explorations for kids research groups.

 

May Mai 2018, 5 pm
LEXICON
Gilly Karjevsky: Hot Terms – Live terminological event with: Peter Arlt
Floating University Berlin is a spatial process moving across utilities and spaces which are normally kept apart – the kitchen and the study, the bar and the auditorium, the hot tub and the library, the laboratory and the street, the university and the park. This movement brings thought and practice together. How can we capture it? Name it?

 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

June 29 – July 15 2018
OPEN PROGRAM
SUMMER OPEN WEEKS
With: the SounDance Festival Berlin – a project by b.arts.u – berlin arts united, which presents and initiates cooperations between dancers and musicians of the independent scene of Berlin and international guests, Tucké Royale, Julia Jost, Basurama, geheimagentur, Academy of Listening, Some Notes, JTW Spandau and many more

August 31 – September 15 2018
OPEN PROGRAM
FALL OPEN WEEKS
With: Ameise Vinyl, Katherine Ball, SounDance Festival Berlin, Academy of Hearing, Some Notes, projekt bauhaus – a ‘Werkstatt’(directed towards a critical inventory of the Bauhaus-ideas, while using its methods), the Zukunftslabor Bauhaus+ (on designing possible futures and questioning their connection to the past future-imagination of the Bauhaus) and many more

X

SPRING OPEN WEEKS

4. – 20. Mai 2018
OFFENES PROGRAMM
SPRING OPEN WEEKS
Mit einem vielfältigen Programm starten wir im Mai in die Spring Open Weeks. Rund um die große Eröffnungsfeier am 10. Mai, gibt es excellentes Programm zum kollaborativen Lernen. Vor allem bieten unsere Floating Professors Workshops für alle an in denen man sich auf die Stadt von morgen vorbereiten kann. Raul Walch wird mit euch den Diskurs in den Himmel erweitern, Andreco verbindet die Umweltfragen mit Choreografie, Philip Leitner und Uwe Tisch leiten eine Forschungsgruppe zur Musikalifizierung baulicher Strukturen. Die Choreografin Sabine Zahn und der Architekt Andreas Krauth suchen mit Dir nach den Potentialen der umliegenden Friedhöfe, mit dem Interfacedesigner Benoit Verjat kann man Betrachtungsweisen erfinden und gemeinsam mit Stefan Kreft vom Center for Ecosystemmanagement in Eberswalde die komplexen Wirkungszusammenhänge zwischen Gesellschaft, Stadt und Ökologie visualisieren.

 

Mai 2018
KÜCHE – Und wer kocht?
AFAVA
Während der Open Weeks kochen nicht nur die Studierenden, sondern auch immer wieder andere Menschen. Im Mai sind das AFAVA aus Lissabon! Wasser soll dieses Mal einen fester Bestandteil des Küchenkonzepts werden: Wie wird eine Wüste ein leckeres Dessert, was für ein Sturm zieht im Topf auf und wie kann mit möglichst wenig Frischwasser eine Küche am Laufen gehalten werden?

 

4. – 12. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr außer 5./6. Mai, 9:30 – 18 Uhr und 7. Mai, 10:30 – 18 Uhr
WORKSHOP
Stefan Kreft: Fabulous MARISCO Workshop
In diesem Workshop begeben sich die Teilnehmer_innen in die Welt des Ökosystemmanagements. Teilnehmer_innen entwickeln eine Situationsanalyse des Beckens und der umliegenden Kleingärten. Anschließend veranschaulichen sie in einem Modell das komplexe Netz von Ursachen und Wirkungen, die Öko- und soziale Systeme und ihre Leistungen für den Menschen beeinflussen.

 

4. – 10. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr
WORKSHOP
Andreco: FLAGS for the Floating University
Mit Andreco wird die Floating University zu einer imaginären indigenen Gesellschaft, deren Gemeinschaftsziel es ist, neue Ideen und Zukunftsszenarien für eine nachhaltige Stadt zu entwerfen. Im Rahmen seines Workshops produzieren die Teilnehmer_innen neue Symbole für diese Gemeinschaft und den besonderen Ort, die auf Flaggen gedruckt und dann zur Eröffnungszeremonie in Szene gesetzt werden.

 

4. – 6. Mai und 11.-13. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr
WORKSHOP
Benoit Verjat: Formatting Observation – Betrachtung formatieren
Benoit Verjat erfindet mit den Workshopteilnehmer_innen neue Formen der Verarbeitung dessen, was sie wahrnehmen. Dabei entsteht ein Parcours rund um den Campus der Floating University, der das was passiert mit dem was passieren könnte verknüpft.

 

6. – 13. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr
WORKSHOP
Andreas Krauth + Sabine Zahn: Deathless Inception
Eine räumlich-körperliche Beobachtung einer Heterotopie im urbanen Kontext: Friedhöfe und ihre todlosen Neu-Gründungen als urbane Orte. Andreas Krauth und Sabine Zahn verbinden zwei Disziplinen, um den Friedhof in seiner städtebaulichen Geschichte bis zu seiner modernen Umnutzung zu beleuchten.

 

8. Mai 2018, 19 Uhr
STAMMTISCH – Ein wöchentliches GESPRÄCH
Space Production Studio der UdK: Stammtischeinweihung
Studierende des Space Production Studio bauen, teilen, fluten und schmeißen die Gemeinschaftsküche. Immer dienstags laden sie zum gemeinsamen, thematischen Dinner und Reflexion – zum Commoning rund um den Küchentisch.

Gäste: Meike Schalk & Thérèse Kristiansson

 

10. Mai 2018, 14 – 00 Uhr
OFFENES PROGRAMM
Big Opening
Eine Performance von Andreco und weiteren Teilnehmenden eröffnet die Floating University feierlich. Mit Musik von Knarf Rellöm, Tosta Mixta und Hot & Potato, Gummistiefeltouren über den Campus und diskursiven Häppchen feiern wir mit euch die Struktur und vor uns liegende fünf Monate Floating University.

 

11. Mai 2018, 19 Uhr
VORTRAG
Dirk Baecker: Die Stadt AGIL
Eine der verblüffenden Beobachtungen weltweit ist, dass Ordnung und Chaos für die Fähigkeit zur Selbstorganisation einer Stadt nicht wirklich einen Unterschied machen. Dirk Baecker beschäftigt sich in seinem Vortrag mit diesem Phänomen und den zugrunde liegenden Voraussetzungen.

 

11. – 13. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr
WORKSHOP
Katherine Ball: Wasserfilterbau
In diesem Workshop bauen wir Filter für das Wassersystem der Floating University – oder vielmehr: wir lassen sie wachsen. Pflanzen, Pilze, Sand, Biofilme, Weichtiere, Xylem, Wassergemüse, Salbei und Spezialeffekte werden in einer Mischung aus Wissenschaft mit Zen-Entspannung und Voodoo-Magie auf ihre Filtereigenschaften geprüft.

11. – 13. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr
WORKSHOP
Raul Walch: Flying Semaphores & Floating Bridges
Drachen, die über Grenzen hinweg fliegen – Raul Walch lädt Teilnehmer_innen der Floating University und Bewohnende der Geflüchtetenunterkunft Tempelhofer Feld zu Workshops und gemeinsamen Flugexperimenten ein. Die vielgestaltigen Flugobjekte werden über die Zäune des Tempelhofer Feldes schweben und tragen den Diskurs der Floating University in den Berliner Luftraum hinein.

 

11.–17. Mai 2018, je 11 – 17 Uhr
WORKSHOP
modular-t (Philip Leitner + Stephan Pircher) und Uwe Tisch: „Forschungsgruppe Klangapperaturenbau/ optimal brain damage: spatialisierte Gerüststahl-Klangskulptur“
Körperschall, impulse-response, Feedback, Resonanzforschung. In dem Workshop von Klangkünstler Philip Leitner und Gerüstbauer Uwe Tisch experimentieren die Teilnehmer_innen mit dem Klang der Architektur und speisen mittels Körperschallwandlern Audio in die Gerüstaufbauten der Floating University ein.

12. Mai 2018, 19 Uhr
GESPRÄCH
Some Notes 7: Niklas Fanelsa, Irene Beyer, Manuel Birnbacher, Henrike Rabe, Yuma Shinohara mit Jan Lindenberg + Gast
Some Notes ist eine Gesprächsreihe über Architektur, Handwerk und kulturelle Praxis im Transfer zwischen Deutschland und anderen Ländern. Die ersten neun Veranstaltungen der Reihe sind Japan gewidmet.

 

13. Mai 2018, 17 Uhr
LEXIKON
Gilly Karjevsky: Hot Terms mit u.a. Jane Randell, Katherine Ball
Wie lässt sich situiertes, in räumlichen Praktiken artikuliertes Wissen festhalten? In der Floating University entsteht ein Lexikon, in dem das angewandte, verkörperte Wissen in Begriffen ausformuliert wird. Sonntagsvormittags diskutieren und bearbeiten die Lexikon-Autorin mit Interessierten die Begriffe in gemeinsamen Schreibsessions (ab Juli) und am frühen Abend in Gesprächen – den so genannten „Hot Terms“.

15. Mai 2018, 19 Uhr
STAMMTISCH – Ein wöchentliches GESPRÄCH
Space Production Studio der UdK: Feminist Kitchen Table
Studierende des Space Production Studio bauen, teilen, fluten und schmeißen die Gemeinschaftsküche. Immer dienstags laden sie zum gemeinsamen, thematischen Dinner und Reflexion – zum Commoning rund um den Küchentisch.

 

17. Mai 2018, 18 – 20 Uhr
DISKUSSION
Habitat Unit und Natural Building Lab: Die Nachwachsende Stadt
„DIE NACHWACHSENDE STADT“ bietet im Rahmen einer Vortragsreihe einen einführenden Überblick zu vier Themen – Stadtsysteme, Klimaanpassung, grüne Ökonomie und Transformation zur Nachhaltigkeit.

 

18. Mai 2018, 20 Uhr
KONZERT
Akademie des Hörens: Schweighart (Schlagwerk) / Leitner (Electronics)
In akustischen Interventionen verschiedenster Art unternimmt die Akademie des Hörens Versuche, um über das Hören zum Denken und über das Denken zum Hören zu gelangen. Kurator Daniel Dominguez Teruel lädt dazu ein, Visionen auszutesten und zu besprechen, u.a. mit einem Chor, Klangkünstler_innen, einer singenden Taube, sowie Vorträgen zur auditiven Wahrnehmung und der Herstellung der größten Wasserbombe der Welt. Diesen Freitag mit Schweighart (Schlagwerk) / Leitner (Electronics).

 

19. Mai – 30. Juni, immer samstags von 10 bis 14 Uhr
KINDER UNIVERSITÄT
Floating University für Kinder
Jeden Samstag bieten wir für alle interessierten Kinder ein offenes Programm an, bei dem sie in Wasserexperimenten, Schnitzeljagden und Nachbarschaftserkundungen Neues lernen.

 

20. Mai 2018, 17 Uhr
LEXIKON
Gilly Karjevski: Hot Terms mit u.a. Peter Arlt
Wie lässt sich situiertes, in räumlichen Praktiken artikuliertes Wissens festhalten? In der Floating University entsteht ein Lexikon, in dem das angewandte, verkörperte Wissen in Begriffen ausformuliert wird. Sonntagsvormittags diskutieren und bearbeiten die Lexikon-Autorinnen mit Interessierten die Begriffe in gemeinsamen Schreibsessions (ab Juli) und am frühen Abend in Gesprächen – den so genannten „Hot Terms“.

 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

29. Juni – 15. Juli 2018
OFFENES PROGRAMM
SUMMER OPEN WEEKS
Mit SounDance Festival Berlin – ein Projekt von b.arts.u – berlin arts united, das Kooperationen zwischen Tänzer_innen und Musiker_innen der Freien Szene Berlins und internationalen Gästen initiiert und präsentiert, Tucké Royale, Julia Jost, Basurama, geheimagentur, Akademie des Hörens, Some Notes, JTW Spandau und vielen mehr

31. August – 15. September 2018
OFFENES PROGRAMM
FALL OPEN WEEKS
Mit Ameise Vinyl, Katherine Ball, SounDance Festival Berlin, Akademie des Hörens, Some Notes, projekt bauhaus – eine „Werkstatt“, die eine kritische Inventur der Bauhaus-Ideen verfolgt und dabei seine Methoden anwendet, dem bauhaus Zukunftslabor Plug-In-Format zur Gestaltung möglicher Zukünfte und deren Verbindung zur vergangenen Zukunftsvorstellung des Bauhauses und vielen mehr