X

Event

Thu, 17.05.18, 18:00 - 20:00
Floating University Berlin, 10965 Berlin, Lilienthalstraße

Architects and planners are increasingly confronted with new challenges: Fossil energy resources, as well as non-renewable materials are on the decline, the effects of climate change and pollution threaten the living conditions and environment and lead to migratory movements and conflicts worldwide. Global urbanization and construction processes are among the largest greenhouse gas producers. At the same time, our increasingly urbanized societies offer a chance for radical rethinking. Only if we succeed in making the global urban transformation sustainable and socially inclusive can we secure our planetary survival.

The project-integrated event-series for architects and planners, “DIE NACHWACHSENDE STADT,” offers an introductory overview on four topics – urban systems, climate adaptation, green economies and governing transformation to sustainability. Participants of the PIV are actively involved in the organization, realization and documentation of the four expert discussions on the respective four topics.

These events are also open to students of the design studios “The Great Transformation”, “Sembrando Vida” and “re: form”, and are co-organized by the Habitat Unit and Natural Building Lab.

May 17: Speakers for Urban System
Stefan Kreft (nachhaltige Entwicklung, Uni Eberswalde)
Saskia Hebert (Transformationsdesign, HbK Braunschweig)
Maria Rosa Muñoz (Wuppertal Institut, climate questions)
Ramana Gudipudi (PIK)

Maria Rosa Muñoz will explain with concrete examples, how the social, economic and environmental aspects of a city are interlinked and how these interconnections should be taken into consideration for an effective urban planning and management. The talk will specifically address the linkages between urban segregation, urban sprawl, housing, transportation, and air pollution.

Ramana Gudipudi will present the current challenges cities globally are facing and identifies key areas for urban transformation and sustainable development from an urban (systems) metabolism point of view. Cities like biological organisms thrive on natural resources while releasing waste and other pollutants as byproducts. Harbouring more than 50% of global population, generating 80% of the global GDP while consuming approximately 70% of global energy supply, cities are recognized as nuclei for global sustainability and climate change mitigation.

 

Further dates are May 24. and 31. and June 7

X

Event

Do, 17.05.18, 18:00 - 20:00
Floating University Berlin, 10965 Berlin, Lilienthalstraße

Architekten und Planerinnen werden zunehmend mit neuen Herausforderungen konfrontiert: Die Endlichkeit fossiler Energieressourcen sowie nicht erneuerbare Materialien, die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und die Umweltverschmutzung bedrohen die Lebensbedingungen und die Umwelt und führen weltweit zu Migrationsbewegungen und Konflikten. Globale Urbanisierungs- und Bauprozesse gehören zu den größten Treibhausgasproduzenten. Gleichzeitig bieten unsere zunehmend urbanisierten Gesellschaften eine Chance für ein radikales Umdenken. Nur wenn es uns gelingt, die globale urbane Transformation nachhaltig und sozial integrativ zu gestalten, können wir unser planetarisches Überleben sichern.

Die projektintegrierte Veranstaltungsreihe für Architektinnen und Planer „DIE NACHWACHSENDE STADT“ bietet einen einführenden Überblick zu vier Themen – Stadtsysteme, Klimaanpassung, grüne Ökonomie und Transformation zur Nachhaltigkeit. Die Teilnehmer der PIV sind aktiv an der Organisation, Durchführung und Dokumentation der vier Fachgespräche zu den jeweiligen vier Themen beteiligt.

Diese Veranstaltungen stehen auch Studierenden der Designstudios„The Great Transformation“,„Sembrando Vida“ und „re: form“ offen und werden gemeinsam von der Habitat Unit und dem Natural Building Lab organisiert.

17. Mai: Referenten für Urban System
Stefan Kreft (Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Uni Eberswalde)
Saskia Hebert (Transformationsdesign, HbK Braunschweig)
Maria Rosa Muñoz (Wuppertal Institut, Klimafragen)
Ramana Gudipudi (PIK)

Maria Rosa Muñoz erläutert anhand konkreter Beispiele, wie die sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Aspekte einer Stadt miteinander verknüpft sind und wie diese Zusammenhänge für eine effektive Stadtplanung und -bewirtschaftung berücksichtigt werden sollten. Der Vortrag wird sich speziell mit den Zusammenhängen zwischen städtischer Segregation, Zersiedelung, Wohnen, Transport und Luftverschmutzung befassen.

Ramana Gudipudi stellt die aktuellen Herausforderungen dar, denen sich Städte weltweit gegenüber stehen, und identifiziert Schlüsselbereiche für städtische Transformation und nachhaltige Entwicklung aus Sicht des städtischen (System-)Stoffwechsels. Städte wie biologische Organismen leben von den natürlichen Ressourcen und setzen Abfälle und andere Schadstoffe als Nebenprodukte frei. Mit mehr als 50 % der Weltbevölkerung, die 80 % des globalen BIP erwirtschaftet und etwa 70 % der weltweiten Energieversorgung verbraucht, gelten Städte als Kernelemente der globalen Nachhaltigkeit und des Klimaschutzes.

 

 

Weitere Termine sind der 24. und 31. Mai sowie der 7. Juni.