X

Event

Tue, 03.07.18, 19:00 - 21:00
Floating University Berlin, 10965 Berlin, Lilienthalstraße
Lecture

Japanese cultural practice is internationally known and appreciated nowadays. This drives an increased number of young Europeans to move to Japan for their studies or for work. Over there they are mostly part of teams until they return after a few months, sometimes years. How do Japanese cultural practices differ from the practices and methods we are familiar with? How are their current works influenced by their time in Japan?

Some Notes invites returnees to talk about their personal experiences. During each event, two protagonists will sit with us around a big table and share their experiences from their work between the two cultures. These rounds are centered around personal, subjective impressions and observations – in fact, notes.

 

Guest are

Markus Shimizu is founder of mimi – a fermentation lab based in Berlin. Among others, he produces artisanal soy sauce and miso and develops special ferments for gastronomy. Markus has studied sculpturing at the KABK The Hague and KBH Berlin. After his diploma and master with Inge Mahn he did 3 years of permaculture at in the Amazon. He continued with socio-cultural-environmental projects like a biological water purification project with an indigenous minority in India or a biogas project at a Japanese art program.

Tilmann S. Wendelstein is an art director and graphic designer based in Berlin and Tokyo. As part of The Simple Society he works on projects that include book design, brand identities and packaging design in Europe and Asia. Clients range from BASF and the Vitra Design Museum to Yohji Yamamoto. In April 2018, together with London based artist Johanna Tagada, he published the first issue of Journal du Thé, a magazine dedicated to contemporary tea culture. Tilmann was living in Tokyo from 2005-2011 where he worked at Bluemark (now Atsuki Kikuchi Inc.). Since then he spends around 3 months per year in Japan.

 

Some Notes is a conversation series organized by
Niklas Fanelsa, Irene Beyer, Manuel Birnbacher, Henrike Rabe, Yuma Shinohara.

The evening is a collaboration between Some Notes and Stammtisch – a weekly conversation around the kitchen table.

Further dates: Some Notes 9 September 7, 7pm

X

Event

Di, 03.07.18, 19:00 - 21:00
Floating University Berlin, 10965 Berlin, Lilienthalstraße
Gespräch

Die japanische kulturelle Praxis wird heute international geschätzt und beachtet. Das hat zur Folge, dass es vermehrt junge Europäer nach Japan zieht, um dort zu studieren, oder zu arbeiten. Sie sind dort oft Teil eines Teams, bevor sie nach einigen Monaten, oder manchmal Jahren wieder zurückkehren. Was unterscheidet die in Japan kennengelernten Praktiken von den uns bekannten Methoden? Und inwiefern sind ihre aktuellen Arbeiten geprägt von der Zeit in Japan?

Some Notes lädt einige Rückkehrer_innen ein, um von ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen zu berichten. An jedem der Abende werden sich jeweils zwei Protagonisten mit uns an einen großen Tisch setzen und ihren Erfahrungen mit der Arbeit zwischen zwei Kulturen zu berichten. Dabei geht es primär um subjektive Eindrücke und kleine Betrachtungen – Notizen, also.

Die Gäste sind diesmal:

Markus Shimizu ist Gründer von mimi – einem Fermentationslabor in Berlin. Er produziert unter anderem Sojasaucen und Miso und entwickelt spezielle Fermente für die Gastronomie. Markus hat Bildhauerei an der KABK Den Haag und der KBH Berlin studiert. Nach seinem Diplom und Meister bei Inge Mahn verbrachte er 3 Jahre am Amazonas. Es folgten soziokulturell-ökologische Projekte wie ein biologisches Wasserreinigungsprojekt mit einer indigenen Minderheit in Indien oder ein Biogasprojekt in einem japanischen Kunstprogramm.

Tilmann S. Wendelstein ist Art Director und Grafik-Designer in Berlin und Tokyo. Als Teil von The Simple Society arbeitet er an Projekten in Europa und Asien, von Buchgestaltung über Markenidentitäten bis Verpackungsdesign. Die Kunden reichen von BASF über das Vitra Design Museum bis Yohji Yamamoto. Im April 2018 veröffentlichte er zusammen mit der Londoner Künstlerin Johanna Tagada die erste Ausgabe des Magazins Journal du Thé, das sich der zeitgenössischen Teekultur widmet. Tilmann lebte von 2005-2011 in Tokyo, wo er über 4 Jahre bei Bluemark (heute Atsuki Kikuchi Inc.) arbeitete. Seitdem verbringt er ca. ein Viertel des Jahres in Japan.

 

Some Notes ist eine Gesprächsreihe organisiert von
Niklas Fanelsa, Irene Beyer, Manuel Birnbacher, Henrike Rabe, Yuma Shinohara.

Der Abend ist eine Kooperation zwischen Some Notes und Stammtisch – a weekly conversation around the kitchen table.

Weitere Termine: Some Notes 7 am 12. Mai mit Jan Lindenberg + Gast und Some Notes 9 am 7. September, jeweils 19 Uhr